The Republican State Convention was from June 5 – June 7, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas. There were over 8,000 Delegate and Alternate attendees from throughout Texas working for a better tomorrow.

We can be proud of SD25’s attendance at the state convention. Approximately 500 Delegates from the six counties, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Travis and Hays that comprise SD25 convened to elect the permanent caucus Committee Chairman Curt Nelson from Bexar County, Larry Nuckols as Parliamentarian from Comal County, Sheila Bean as Secretary from Bexar County and Ken Nicolas as Sgt at Arms from Hays County.

SD25 also elected the permanent members of the different committees of the state convention. Platform Committee, Sheryl Holland (Kendall County), Beverly Nuckols (Comal County), Rules Committee, Trudy Hayter (Hays County), Credentials Committee, and Joyce Yannuzzi (Comal County), Nominations committee. Cheri Creekmore was appointed to the Organization Committee.

Sheryl Holland from the Platform Committee was asked to vote against the marijuana plank by the majority of the delegates and she agreed.

The State Republican Executive Committee (SREC) man and woman were also elected. There were two candidates for each position. SREC woman, incumbent Linda Kinney from Hays County beat her challenger Patty Gibbons from Bexar County with the majority of votes 360.17 (73.81%) to 127.82 (32.2%)

The SREC men vied for an open seat vacated by former SREC man George Antuna. Jeff Judson from Bexar County and Bob Hieronymus from Comal County campaigned for the position. Judson won with the majority of votes 324.74 (73.81%) to 157.35 (26.19%). Both Kinney and Judson were strongly endorsed by State Senator SD25 Donna Campbell.

Among our many guests were our prestigious US Senator John Cornyn, State Rep Doug Miller, State Senator Donna Campbell, and candidates Amy Clark campaigning for vice president of the Republican Party of Texas, Will Hurd nominee for CD23, Kevin Yeary nominee for Texas Court of Criminal Appeals and Dan Patrick who is our nominee for Lt Gov.

The serious voting took place on Saturday, June 7, 2014 in the general session. SD25 had an opportunity to vote FOR or AGAINST the Amendment that wiped out the Immigration plank in the Permanent Platform. The Roll Call vote count for SD25 was FOR 226.53 and AGAINST 260.56. In other words, SD25 voted NOT to have the Amendment replace the immigration plank in the Permanent Platform.

It was my honor and pleasure to be asked to be the official photographer of SD25 by Curt Nelson. This was an honorary position and not an official part of the state convention.

I pray that we will unite by November so we can get down to the business of crushing the Democrats!

Pray, Fight, Never Give Up!


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy